A Blind Sign EP

by Shoc Corridor

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $6 USD  or more




Shoc Corridor was the London post-punk quartet of Paul O’Carroll (Voice, Synth), Andy Garnham (Synth, Drum), Chris Davis (Guitar, Bass, E-Bow) and Nogi Prass (Synth) named after the Sam Fuller film from 1963. Chris met Nogi shortly after moving to London in 1979 – they started playing music together, fell madly in love, and decided to form a band. They recruited Andy, who had previously played in a band with Stephen Luscombe of Blancmange, and lyricist and vocalist Paul. Their influences were wide reaching: Kraftwerk, Neu, Cabaret Voltaire, Brian Eno, PIL, and Joy Division.

The group recorded a 4-song demo during 1981 in a tiny flat Chris shared with Nogi in Notting Hill. As their collection of instruments grew they set up studio a few blocks away in Andy’s flat at 20 All Saints Road. There they re-recorded “Sargasso Sea” along with “On Reflexion” on a TEAC reel-to-reel 4-track machine. In the summer of ’82, the band was booked into Decibel Studios in Stoke Newington for two and a half days with Mark Easton of Shout Records, where they reworked the two songs. The group usually worked through studio experimentation rather than constructing their songs in a conventional way. Their equipment list included a Korg MS-20, Wasp, Pro-One, Roland TR-808, WEM Copicat, guitars, bass, e-bow and an assortment of effects pedals. “On Reflexion” began as a Blancmange backing track, since Stephen Luscombe would sometimes use Andy’s 4-track, Korg MS-20 and drum machine. Chris has memories of Paul disappearing from time to time to the neighboring graveyard for inspiration, where they had to procure him from to lay down vocals. Their debut 3-song 12” single, “A Blind Sign”, was released in October 1982 on Shout Records. For this re-issue we’ve included the original skeletal “Sargasso Sea” 4-track demo from 1981. Evocative and dreamy, the music escorts you on a tour of icy landscapes, with Paul’s rich vocals guiding the way.

All songs have been remastered for vinyl by George Horn at Fantasy Studios. Each EP comes in an exact replica of the original jacket, designed by Chris Davis with artwork by Paul and Jerry Neal. Each copy includes an 8×11” 2-sided insert with liner notes, lyrics and photos designed by Eloise Leigh.

Also available on 12” vinyl EP from Dark Entries Records (DE-164)


released July 10, 2017

Synthesizer – Nogi Prass
Synthesizer, Drum – Andy Garnham
Vocals, Artwork, Lyrics – Paul O'Carroll
Guitar, Bass, Effects [E-bow], Design [Cover] – Chris Davis
Written by – Shoc Corridor
Engineer – Graeme Holdaway (tracks: A1,A2,B1)
Producer – Mark Easton (tracks: A1,A2,B1), Shoc Corridor
Remastered By – George Horn
Artwork – Jerry Neal
Layout – Eloise Leigh

A1,A2,B1 Recorded at Decibel Studios
B2 Recorded by Shoc Corridor at home



all rights reserved


Chris+Nogi Cape Town, South Africa

Chris+Nogi were members of English electronic post-punk band Shoc Corridor with Paul O'Carroll and Andy Garnham

contact / help

Contact Chris+Nogi

Streaming and
Download help